My husband, Dave, and I went camping again last week. Hence, why I haven’t blogged in a while. I hesitate to call it camping actually because we stay in a cabin with a refrigerator. But we are out in nature, recharging our souls. Dave enjoyed the Adirondack chair last week. I always enjoy a good campfire myself. I can sit for hours just staring at the flames. It feeds my spirit. The last two times we camped in April and May, we went up to Fair Haven Beach State Park on Lake Ontario. Last week we headed down to the south end of Cayuga Lake (the Finger Lake that I live on) and stayed at Taughannock Falls State Park. I loved being on the south end of the lake because you could watch both the sunrise (if you were up early enough) and the sunset. I live on the west side of the lake so I only get to see the sunrises (when I am up early enough).

It is an awful lot of work to get everything together and packed up, then unpacked at the cabin, then packed up again to go home, and then unpacked once we’re home, especially since we usually only stay for two nights. But it is so worth it to spend that time with the trees, the lake and the sunshine. Camping really is a spiritual experience for me. I come home feeling relaxed and more whole, more complete, more at one with the Universe. I guess it’s even more special because the camping season is so short in Upstate New York. We hibernate all winter and then enjoy the limited amount of summer this region affords us.