1-11-19 if your life is going downhill wouldn't that make it easierWhen I turned 50, I remember thinking, “Well, it’s all downhill from here!” My, how that sentiment has changed. I don’t know what gave me the idea that life stopped at 50, that I had learned it all, that there was nothing new. I guess, in a way, it was a pleasant realization that it’s NOT all downhill from 50. I will be 67 this year and I am finding I still have SO much to learn. I continue to grow and evolve. Each year I become a better person than I was the year before. Shouldn’t that be what life is all about?

For the past few years, I must give a great deal of credit to my husband for the positive changes in my life. We will be celebrating our 5th anniversary in May, but for the first three years of our marriage, we were separated more than we were together. We even filed separation papers. We were married later in life and I believe that we brought way too much baggage with us into the marriage. In addition, we had huge communication issues. After years of therapy and a considerable amount of hard work, we have finally achieved success in remaining together. We have both become better people in the process. What is the saying? The finest steel has to go through the hottest fire.

This year I am working on non-attachment, trying to figure out what that means and how it fits into my life. The big a-ha moment last week was the realization that non-attachment is another way of saying letting go. This week I am starting to work on letting go of ego. I have often loved to be the center of attention, drawing attention to myself in a myriad of ways. For the past couple of years it has been my purple hair. Even while working on letting go of ego, I think I will keep the hair. It is interesting, however, to see other situations where I would normally be speaking up to draw attention to myself and how, in this process of letting go of ego, I remain silent. It is a fun experiment. I am still processing the results.