The Root of Suffering is Attachment

For the upcoming year I have chosen to reflect on what non-attachment means to me. I have been drawn to Buddhist thought in the past, but I have never made it part of my spiritual practice. I recently joined the Church of the Larger Fellowship, a virtual Unitarian Universalist congregation. One of its many Facebook pages/groups is called CLF Coffee Hour. Someone posts almost daily the question, “How is your spiritual practice today?” Having that reminder has made me very aware of how important a spiritual practice is. Another one of the CLF groups is doing a “word of the year” to work on. So that’s where “non-attachment” comes in – I have chosen it to be my word of the year.

At this point, I have come as far as determining that non-attachment for me should be more about outcomes rather than people or things. It will be quite the journey to discover the balance between appropriate attachment and non-attachment. I may have to pull out and dust off some old books from my library. I’m sure I will be writing more as my journey continues.